A Canadian hockey fan

I grew up loving Hockey Night In Canada.  I remember being awake well past my bedtime listening to HNIC via my old transistor radio tucked under my pillow.  I still love watching hockey and truly enjoy the HNIC opening segments.  Here are a few of my favourites.

Along with many other book lovers in Canada, I just finished watching Canada Reads 2013.  “Two Solitudes” by Hugh MacLennan was championed by Jay Baruchel – an excerpt of which he read to open HNIC this past weekend.

“Rosy and Grey” by The Lowest of the Low open up a 2011 HNIC broadcast.  The footage is from the Lee’s Palace concert that Dave and I attended –  we are both huge fans of the band and actually arrived so early for the concert that we were able to lean against the doors of Lee’s Palace and listen to them warm up.  You can read Dave’s review of the show here.

The Sadies – another talented Canadian band – open up a recent HNIC broadcast with their song “Whispering Circles”.

The Tragically Hip actually premiered their song “At Transformation” on the HNIC broadcast of Game 7 of the playoff game between the Washington Capitals and and New York Rangers.

And what hockey fan can forget this – the 60th anniversary celebration of the longest running sports TV show in the world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Music, Sports, Television

Leave a Reply

